He decided to live his life shallow…

Posted: 28th November, 2008 in Uncategorized
Tags:

I actually had a customer say to me today, with no hint of sarcasm or irony “well then I guess my kids will just have to starve, and over Christmas, too.” Not only that, she said it as if expecting it to have an effect, and me to suddenly clutch my heart as if her words stung, and instantly change bank policy and give her free money.

Firstly, swing and a miss with your target audience for that little attempt at emotional blackmail. I couldn’t give a damn if you and your family starve, Christmas or not, so trying to appeal to my nature as a kind-hearted human being was not the brightest of plans. Secondly, me using the phrases “automated process” and “no human discretion” should have given you a clue that I couldn’t do anything about your fucking problem, even if I did want to. Which I didn’t.

It’s time people took responsibility for themselves and their actions. Ignorance is not an excuse. Accident is not an excuse. “I think it’s unfair” is definitely not an excuse. If you’re old enough to have a bank account and a job, you’re old enough to keep track of your own money and make sure you don’t spend more than you have. It isn’t a complex concept whatsoever. Money in must be equal to or greater than money out, otherwise, you will incur penalties. Yes, us banks are the evils ones, because we won’t let you get away with spending money you don’t have, that isn’t yours, and we won’t tolerate your stupidity.

Happy Christmas. Eat your children and do the gene pool a favour.

Leave a Reply

