You’re the one who keeps me uninvited…

Posted: 2nd October, 2008 in Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

The Disgruntled Banker – Part One

I work for a bank. I know, they let me work with people, it’s madness. Not only that, but they leave me in charge of their money. The purest definition of foolishness I’ve ever known. Anyway.

So I had a lady (barely) almost in tears in my office today. Now let me assure you, the cause was nothing to do with me offending her or having been rude etc. She asked me if I could extend her overdraft because she had no money to buy food for herself or her two children and wouldn’t be able to eat for a week. And I told her there was no way we could do such a thing because she was only on benefits as she was a jobless mother of two children, barely in her twenties, and had managed to get herself into lots of debt elsewhere already. I didn’t quite phrase it like that, but I explained the situation.

And the reason I sat there with not an ounce of sympathy, apart from my general apathy towards humanity, was that she’d spent the ten minutes previously explaining to me that she gets over a thousand pounds a month of benefits, has no rent or mortgage to pay, and when asked how on earth she spends all her money every month and still needs an overdraft, she answered “Yeah, like, umm, I get my nails done and stuff, and buy the kids new clothes all the time and stuff, and…”.

Dear fucking god, someone needs to put a lifeguard on the gene pool of life and not let people like this breed. She seemed to think it was funny at first, while she was telling me how she literally wastes all of her money on material crap that they don’t need, then comes to the bank asking for money because she can’t afford to feed herself and her children for a week. Then when she was told it wouldn’t be possible she started getting all upset and angry, as if it were my fault. I apologised, explained the situation again, and suggested that perhaps in future it would be a good idea to prioritise nourishment for herself and her children over sparkly nails.

Comments
  1. girl says:

    Don’t ever go into social work.

    Because all the time, you’re going to get people screwing up their lives by themselves being stupid, and you’re not going to be very helpful. =P

    You are absolutely justified in how you feel, and think about this woman, but I’m still slightly surprised at how you’d be able to deal with it so calmly. I’d be sympathetic, at least while she was there, and only reflect heavily on how stupid she is, in retrospect.

    I supposed that’s why I like you so much. Brains >> heart in you, young Master Jude. =P

  2. Bill Door says:

    I was helpful. I told her not to be such a cretin in future and buy food first, and not to spend hundreds of pounds a month on nails and jewelry. Not being able to help doesn’t mean I wasn’t helpful. My hands are literally tied in situations like that. People still, I’m sure, think it’s the days when they can go into a bank and have a chat with the kindly bank manager who’ll do something nice for them “just this once” to help out because it’s such a heart-rending situation. It isn’t, we can’t. Everything is automated and there is no human over-ride now. The manager has no more discretion than I would do, and even he can’t appeal a decision made my the credit scoring of the system. Good. Maybe she’ll starve and drop dead so those thousands of pounds of benefits she receives every year can go to someone more worthwhile who won’t waste it on nonsense.

Leave a Reply

